Home / News / Britten Young Songwriter Competition winners announced

Britten Young Songwriter Competition winners announced

18 November 2013

We are delighted to announce that the overall winners of the Britten Young Songwriter Competition are Zoe Dixon, age 13, from Littleover, Derby, with her song ‘Orford Lighthouse’ and Abigail Caveney, age 13, from Southampton, with ‘Greater Gabbard’.

The two winning songs, with texts written by Anthony Horowitz, will be performed on 22nd November, the 100th Anniversary of Britten’s birth, at Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Suffolk.

Overall Winners:
Zoe Dixon from Littleover, Derby, - (13 & under) Orford Lighthouse
Abigail Caveney from Southampton - (13 & under) Greater Gabbard

Category Winners:
Morgan Overton from Oakham, Rutland - (13 & under) Greater Gabbard.
Joe Davies from Rugby, Warwickshire - (14-18) Orford Lighthouse
Alex James Reed from Attleborough, Norfolk - (14-18) Greater Gabbard.

Runners up:
Emma Farmer from Oakham, Rutland - (14-18) Greater Gabbard.
Ella Cookson from Scorton, Nr Lancaster - (13 & under) Orford Lighthouse
George Herbert from Styal, Cheshire - (13 & under) Orford Lighthouse.